Frequently Asked Questions about Teacher Eligibility Test (TET / CTET) & Syllabus

What is CTET ?

The test conducted by CBSE on all-India basis is known as Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET).

For Which candidates the CTET is applicable ?

The Central Teacher Eligibility Test is conducted only for candidates willing to teach from class I-VIII. The test is not conducted to assess the candidates eligibility to teach in higher secondary schools.

For Which Schools the CTET is applicable ?

The CTET is valid for Central Government schools like KVS, NVS, Central Tibetan Schools, etc. and schools under the administrative control of Union Territories of Chandigarh, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu and Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep and NCT of Delhi.

Is CTET applicable for Private Schools ?

CTET may also apply to the unaided private schools, who may exercise the option of considering the CTET.

Does State governments consider/ recognise CTET ?

A State Government can also consider the CTET if it decides not to conduct the State TET.

Which body governs the TET exams ?

National Council For Teacher Education (NCTE) is the governing body for TET exams and all rules/guidelines like eligibility, the syllabus is set by NCTE. As per the NCTE, state Govt should conduct a TET at least once every year.

What are the qualifying marks for CTET and validity for certificate ?

Minimum 60% marks are required to qualify the CTET and the CTET qualifying certificate is valid for 7 years for appointment in schools. There is no restriction for appearing for the TET exams, you can take the TET for improving your scores every year.

What is the Exam pattern for CTET ?

All questions in CTET test will be Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs), each carrying 1 mark, with four alternatives out of which one answer will be correct. There will be no negative marking.

How many papers are there in CTET ?

There will be two papers of CTET.

  • Paper I will be for a person who intends to be a teacher for classes I to V.
  • Paper II will be for a person who intends to be a teacher for classes VI to VIII.

A person who intends to be a teacher for both levels (classes I to V and classes VI to VIII) will have to appear in both the papers (Paper I and Paper II).

What are the list of exam papers in CTET ?

Exam is ONLINE. No off line exam is available. Once you submit the question paper you will immediately get the result.

  • Child Development & Pedagogy - Paper 1
  • Child Development & Pedagogy - Paper 2
  • Tamil – Paper 1
  • Tamil – Paper 2
  • English – Paper 1
  • English – Paper 2
  • Maths – Paper 1
  • Maths – Paper 2
  • Environmental Science
  • Science – Paper 2
  • Social Science


Download syllabus PDF