Certificate Examination in Customer Service & Banking Codes and Standards (BCSBI) - Exam Pattern, Syllabus, Eligibility & Fees

BCSBI Exam Dates – Schedule 2020 & 2021

Exam Dates Registration dates
23-02-2020 10-01-2020 to 05-02-2020
28-03-2020 01-02-2020 to 29-02-2020
25-04-2020 01-03-2020 to 31-03-2020
19-07-2020 01-05-2020 to 31-05-2020
18-10-2020 01-09-2020 to 30-09-2020
17-01-2021 01-11-2020 to 30-11-2020

What is the objective of BCSBI Exam?

To enhance knowledge of banking professionals in the field of Customer Services and to render quality service by bank employees, IIBF has launched a certificate course in customer service in association with Banking Codes and Standards Board of India (BCSBI)

What is Full form of BCSBI?

BCSBI full form - Banking Codes and Standards Board of India


BCSBI is a society and is an independent organization promoted by RBI. Main objective of this society, is to formulate standards of service and also ensure that the same are maintained by all its members. There are a total of 132 banks as members of this society, who have voluntarily agreed to abide by the standards of service prescribed by BCSBI.

The main objectives of the BCSBI are

1) To plan, evolve, prepare, develop, promote and publish comprehensive Codes and Standards for banks, for providing for fair treatment to their customers.

2) To function as an independent and autonomous body to monitor, and to ensure that the Codes and Standards adopted by banks are adhered to, in letter and spirit, while delivering services to their customers.


1) Members and Non-Members of the Institute

2) Candidates must have passed the 12th standard examination in any discipline or its equivalent or Candidate who have completed BC/BF examination conducted by IIBF.

Exam details

  • Question Paper will contain 120 objective type multiple choice questions for 100 marks.
  • The examination will be held in Online Mode only
  • There will NOT be negative marking for wrong answers.
  • Questions for 20 marks each will be from Module A, B and C. Question for 40 marks will be from Module D of the syllabus.

The duration of the examination will be of 2 hours. Examination will be conducted on pre-announced dates published on IIBF Web Site.

Examination will be conducted in English only.

Passing Criteria

Minimum marks for pass in the subject is 50 out of 100.

Exam Fees – Rs 1000 for Members and Rs 1500 for Non Members (Plus applicable taxes)

Where will I get BCSBI Model Question Papers?

Syllabus for Certificate Examination in Customer Service & Banking Codes and Standards

Module - A Approximately 20 marks

Definition of a customer – Banker- Customer relationship – Points of contact – Types of customers – Types of relationships, such as individuals, corporates, etc. and their 3 peculiarities – Need for building up customer relationships and Importance of Customer Service in a country like India - Changing Expectations and Perceptions – Termination of relationship

Module - B approximately 20 marks

Modern day banking – Core Banking / Electronic Payments – phone banking – mobile banking – internet banking – How business is sourced – Different retail products – Home Loans – Vehicle Loans – Consumer durables – Credit Cards – Bancassurance – Demat services – Selling through agents – Recovery process, etc. This Module should also deal with general areas of grievances - pass book, account statement, unsolicited business, different charges, etc.

Module - C approximately 20 marks

Efforts made by banks, association of banks and Reserve Bank of India to improve customer service – Regulations, Instructions, KYC / AML guidelines-Banks’ duties and rights – Customer Service Committees – Grievance Redressal Mechanism including Banking Ombudsman – Importance of Developing Skills and Attitudes – Use of IT in improving customer service.

Module - D approximately 40 marks

Genesis of Banking Codes and Standards Board of India – its set up and functions – Code of Bank’s Commitment to Customers and Code of Bank’s Commitment to Micro and Small Enterprises.